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Garnishment Provisions of the Alabama Consumer Credit Act 
(Section 5-19-15, Code of Alabama 1975) 

TO BE USED FOR GARNISHMENTS INVOLVING DEBTS ARISING FROM CONSUMER LOANS, 
CONSUMER CREDIT SALES AND CONSUMER LEASES 

A person who has “disposable earnings” of less than a certain amount per week cannot be garnished in any amount   
for debts arising from consumer loans, consumer credit sales, and consumer leases. For debts or demands created BEFORE 
April 12, 1988, the amount is $362.50. For debts or demands created ON OR AFTER April 12, 1988, this amount is $217.50. This   
is due to the federal minimum wage increase to $7.25 per hour for most workers, and the resulting increase in the amount of   
wages, salary, or other compensation exempt from garnishment under the Alabama Consumer Credit Act. 

DISPOSABLE EARNING DEFINED: An employee’s “disposable earnings” means that part of earnings of an individual 
remaining after deduction of amounts required by law to be withheld such as federal income tax, federal social security tax and 
state and local taxes. 

For debts or demands created BEFORE April 12,1988, the Alabama Consumer Credit Act limits wages, salary or other 
compensation subject to garnishment to the LESSER of: 

(a) 20% of a person’s disposable earnings for the week;
     OR 

(b) Disposable earnings for the week less $362.50 (50 times the minimum wage - $7.25 per hour)

Example 1:    If  an  employee’s  gross  earnings  in  a  particular  week  are  $500, and after deductions made as outlined above, the 
    disposable earnings are $450, apply the test as follows: 

(a) 20% times $450 = $90     OR (b) $450 less $362.50 = $87.50

In this example, only $87.50 may be garnished for the week, since $87.50 is less than $90.00, and $362.50 would be paid to the 
employee  ($450 disposable earnings less the garnished $87.50) 

For debts or demands created ON OR AFTER April 12, 1988, the Alabama Consumer Credit Act limits wages, salary or other 
compensation subject to garnishment to the LESSER of: 

(a) 20% of a person’s disposable earnings for the week;
     OR 

(b) Disposable earnings for the week less $217.50 (30 times the minimum wage - $7.25)

Example 2:    If  an  employee’s  gross  earnings  in  a  particular  week  are  $280, and after deductions made as outlined above, the 
    disposable earnings are $240, apply the test as follows: 7.25 x 30 =$217.50) 

(a) 20% times $240 = $60     OR (b) $240 less $217.50 = $22.50

In this example, only $22.50 may be garnished for the week, since $22.50 is less than $60.00, and $217.50 would be paid to the 
employee  ($240 disposable earnings less the garnished $22.50). 

NOTE: When  the  federal  minimum wage increases, then the above tests and examples would use the current minimum 
wage instead of $7.25. 

PROTECTION AGAINST DISCHARGE FROM EMPLOYMENT: Title 15, §1674 of the United States Code, prohibits an   
employer from discharging any employee because earnings have been subject to garnishment for any one 
indebtedness.

…………………………………………………………………………..IMPORTANT……………………………………………………………………………. 
 

IF THE GARNISHEE FAILS TO FILE A SWORN ANSWER WITHIN 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE THE WRIT IS RECEIVED, THE 
PLAINTIFF (PERSON ASSERTING CLAIM) MAY PROCEED FOR JUDGMENT AGAINST THE GARNISHEE FOR THE AMOUNT OF   
THE PLAINTIFF’S CLAIM PLUS COURT COSTS. THE ANSWER MAY BE MAILED TO THE COURT CLERK PROMPTLY AFTER BEING 
SERVED BY THE SHERIFF. CONTACT AN ATTORNEY IF YOU NEED FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE COURT CLERK AND OTHER 
COURT PERSONNEL CANNOT GIVE YOU LEGAL ADVICE. 
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Garnishment Provisions of 15 U.S.C. § 1673 and §6-10-7, Code of Alabama 1975 
TO BE USED FOR GARNISHMENTS INVOLVING DEBTS NOT ARISING FROM CONSUMER LOANS, 

CONSUMER CREDIT SALES AND CONSUMER LEASES 

A person who has “disposable earnings” of less than a certain amount per week cannot be garnished in any amount   
for debts arising from consumer loans, consumer credit sales, and consumer leases. For debts or demands created 
BEFORE April 12, 1988, the amount is $362.50. For debts or demands created ON OR AFTER April 12, 1988, this amount is 
$217.50. This   is due to the federal minimum wage increase to $7.25 per hour for most workers, and the resulting increase in 
the amount of   wages, salary, or other compensation exempt from garnishment under the Alabama Consumer Credit Act. 

DISPOSABLE EARNING DEFINED: An employee’s “disposable earnings” means that part of earnings of an individual 
remaining after deduction of amounts required by law to be withheld such as federal income tax, federal social security tax and   
state and local taxes. 

Alabama and federal law limit wages, salary or other compensation subject to garnishment to the LESSER of: 

(a) 25% of a person’s disposable earnings for the week;
     OR 

(b) Disposable earnings for the week less $217.50 (30 times the minimum wage - $7.25 per hour)

The following examples illustrate how to determine how much of an employee’s wages, salary or other compensation can be 
garnished: 

Example 1:    If  an  employee’s  gross  earnings  in  a  particular  week  are  $270, and after deductions made as outlined above, the 
    disposable earnings are $230, apply the test as follows: 

(a) 20% times $230 = $46     OR (b) $230 less $217.50 = $12.50

In this example, only $12.50 may be garnished for the week, since $12.50 is less than $46, and $217.50 would be paid to the 
employee  ($230 disposable earnings less the garnished $12.50) 

Example 2:    If  an  employee’s  gross  earnings  in  a  particular  week  are  $350,  and after deductions made as outlined above, 
      the  disposable earnings are $300, apply the test as follows: ($7.25 x 30 =$217.50) 

(a) 25% times $300 = $75     OR (b) $300 less $217.50 = $82.50

In this example, only $75 may be garnished for the week, since $75 is less than $82.50, and $225 would be paid to the 
employee  ($300 disposable earnings less the garnished $75). 

NOTE: When  the  federal  minimum wage increases, then the above  tests  and  examples would use the current minimum 
wage instead of $7.25. 

PROTECTION AGAINST DISCHARGE FROM EMPLOYMENT: Title 15, §1674 of the United States Code, prohibits 
an employer from discharging any employee because earnings have been subject to garnishment for any one 
indebtedness.

…………………………………………………………………………..IMPORTANT……………………………………………………………………………. 

IF THE GARNISHEE FAILS TO FILE A SWORN ANSWER WITHIN 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE THE WRIT IS RECEIVED, THE 
PLAINTIFF (PERSON ASSERTING CLAIM) MAY PROCEED FOR JUDGMENT AGAINST THE GARNISHEE FOR THE AMOUNT OF   
THE PLAINTIFF’S CLAIM PLUS COURT COSTS. THE ANSWER MAY BE MAILED TO THE COURT CLERK PROMPTLY AFTER BEING 
SERVED BY THE SHERIFF. CONTACT AN ATTORNEY IF YOU NEED FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE COURT CLERK AND OTHER 
COURT PERSONNEL CANNOT GIVE YOU LEGAL ADVICE. 


	Text210: 


